Women’s Foundation Salutes Four Women With 2019 Legends Award

Women’s Foundation Salutes Four Women With 2019 Legends Award

  The Women’s Foundation for a Greater Memphis has selected four women to receives its 10th Legend Awards. Honorees Meri Armour, Rev. Cheryl Beard, Claudia Haltom and Dr. Indurani Tejwani are this year’s recipients for visionary and innovative work that embodies the foundation’s mission.

  Legends Awards recipients will be honored through one-of-a-kind works of art and prose that exemplify their accomplishments and contributions to the community. The works of art and prose created in their honor will be unveiled for the first time at the Legends Award Reception.

  After the reception, the art is displayed in the Baptist Women’s Hospital’s Hall of Legends.

  The Legends Award reception will take place Thu., Apr. 11, 2019, 6-8 p.m. at the Columns at One Commerce Square, 40 S. Main St., Memphis, Tenn. Visit http://www.wfgm.org for sponsorships, tickets and additional information.

  “When the Women’s Foundation for a Greater Memphis began the Legends Award, we felt this was an opportunity to elevate women, their leadership, and those who make legendary changes to our community,” said WFGM Executive Director Ruby Bright. Each honoree is someone who has led change in the community and sometimes in the country.”

  “It is an honor to participate in this event.” Dr. Marcia Bowden-Marche said. “We Invite all of the community to come witness this celebration.”

  Dr. Bowden-Marche and Denise Carpenter are co-chairs for this year’s Legends Award.

Cheryl Beard

  Cheryl Beard will receive a Catalyst Award. Beard is a minister of the Olivet Fellowship Baptist Church and has been a passionate, tireless advocate for children and families for more than 30 years.

Claudia Haltom

  Claudia Haltom will also receive a Catalyst Award. Retiring after 17 years in the juvenile court system, Haltom founded A Step Ahead Foundation, a non-profit whose mission is to provide safe, long-term, reversible contraceptives to women without the means to afford them.

Meri Armour

  Meri Armour will receive the Innovation Award. Armour is the President and CEO of Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital. She has been committed to children, believing that all children deserve a healthy and safe childhood with the promise of a bright future.

Dr. Indurani Tejwani

  Dr. Indurani Tejwani will receive the Philanthropy and Leadership Award. Tejwani has supported women and children in Memphis through over 50 years as a philanthropist, obstetrician and gynecologist. She is also a founding member of the Women’s Foundation for a Greater Memphis.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.